Professor Liu Jinan

As a professor in the field of mass communication and international relations, Prof. Liu Jinan is the president of Organizing Committee of World Women University Presidents Forum, honorary president of Communication University of China (CUC), honorary president of Nanguang College of CUC and member of National Committee of film review.

In February 1939, Professor Liu Jinan was born in Xiaogan city of Hubei province in China. She graduated from Peking University in 1965, majoring in international politics. She has been a teacher in CUC (former Beijing Broadcasting Institute) since 1965. From 1983 to 1992, she had acted as vice president of Beijing Broadcasting Institute. From 1993 to 2006, she was president of CUC (former Beijing Broadcasting Institute). In 2004, Prof. Liu Jinan founded a modern college named Nanguang College of CUC, which has a student number over ten thousand in Nanjing. From 2004 to 2010, she was president of Nanguang College of CUC.

Prof. Liu Jinan is one of the creators and founders in the field of mass communication and international relations, and she developed study on “national image” early in China. So far, she has published more than 10 books, including Mass Communication and International Relations, International Communication and Nation Image and The Image of China, etc.

Professor Liu Jinan pays long-term attention to the research of woman education and woman leadership. Since 2001, the first “World Women Presidents Forum” was held by her, six forums and seven sub-forums have been held successfully. She also produced the first television documentary, World Women University President Features Collections (15 sets), and published the “World Women’s Universities and Women University presidents” Series. In 2013, Prof. Liu Jinan established the Women Leadership Academy focusing on systematically conducting women leadership research and enhancement. In October 2004, she was awarded the “Outstanding Achievements Annual Award” by International Association of University Presidents (IAUP).